QuicKey to run at Login or Startup?

QuicKey to run at Login or Startup?

Postby Etnier » Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:41 am

I can't seem to figure how to set this up. Is it possible?
Etnier
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:39 am

Postby gb2 » Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:07 am

under QuicKeys Preferences on the General tab check "Open QuicKeys at log in"
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Etnier » Sat Mar 04, 2006 10:10 am

Thanks. I didn't put my question clearly. I want to create a shortcut which will run at login or startup.
Etnier
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:39 am

Postby gb2 » Tue Mar 07, 2006 2:01 am

What you would want to do here is to set a shortcut that is Triggered by an Application Event, namely QuicKeys Launching. I usually set them to trigger 20 to 30 seconds after QuicKeys Launches to make sure the rest of the startup process is done.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Etnier » Thu Mar 09, 2006 8:24 am

Of course, this is a workaround which assumes that QuicKeys' launching is always equivalent to a startup/login. Let's imagine that I quit/restart QuicKeys and don't want the shortcut to run at that point. What then?

I guess this isn't built into the app, which answers the question. Thanks for your time.
Etnier
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:39 am

Postby gb2 » Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:14 am

give us a little info on what your shortcut is doing. Its possible that there could be something that could be tested to see if the shortcut should trigger when QuicKeys is quit and restarted.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Etnier » Thu Mar 09, 2006 10:19 am

I don't want this associated with the operation of QuicKeys. I need to open the Hardware PrefPane (from CHUD tools) and select a checkbox there when the computer is restarted or cold-started. I don't want to have to worry about an artificial association with another application.
Etnier
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:39 am

Postby gb2 » Thu Mar 09, 2006 12:22 pm

Are you wanting to check the NAP checkbox? I'm not on a machine right now that has it installed so I don't have access to that PrefPane to see the options. An AppleScript could be written so that it could be triggered by QuicKeys at startup and check it. It wouldn't matter how many times it was triggered and at what time, it would always check it. If it was not checked it would check it, if it was already checked it would leave it checked.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Postby Etnier » Thu Mar 09, 2006 1:01 pm

Thanks
Etnier
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2006 7:39 am


Return to QKM General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron