Option key held down

Option key held down

Postby attilakoko » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:54 am

I would like the "option key + up arrow" to be held down so long as long as I hold the hot key down. It seem that's not possible. Is that true? I have QuicKeys X3 version 3.2.1 (22)

I tried it with the keystroke shortcut but unfortunately it is just a stroke.

Thanks
attilakoko
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:49 am

Re: Option key held down

Postby gb2 » Mon Apr 16, 2012 10:24 am

if you are still using X3 then you should be using version 3.2.3. If you have tried a Type Keystroke and have it type the option - up arrow and have the trigger set to repeat and it doesn't work for you then there would be no way to do it.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Option key held down

Postby attilakoko » Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:12 pm

Thanks for the reply. If I upgrade to 3.2.3, will all my shortcuts and programming still work like in the old version? I hope that I don't have to reprogram QuicKeys.
attilakoko
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:49 am

Re: Option key held down

Postby gb2 » Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:07 am

it is just a small point update and will not change anything.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Option key held down

Postby attilakoko » Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:10 am

Now I have installed X3 version 3.2.3 but it's the same.
In Type Keystroke, I cannot find "Leave Pressed" under details

Isn't it the "Leave Pressed" feature which should hold the key down?
It' missing in X3 3.2.3
attilakoko
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:49 am

Re: Option key held down

Postby gb2 » Mon Apr 23, 2012 10:00 am

I was just telling you if you were running X3 you should be on the last version of it. I suggested that the only thing to try with that version was to make sure the trigger repeat was on and if that didn't work there was nothing else to try with that version. That feature is only in QuicKeys 4. If your system meets the system requirements for QuicKeys 4 you should download the trail version and try before you buy it may not work in it either. Holding a modifier key down only works as long as it is in the shortcut, if you are trying to repeat the shortcut it will release and hold it down again when it enters it again. The program you are using may still not like that.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm


Return to QKM General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron