Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby cbergm7210 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:26 pm

Just installed QK's 4 and I get this error on start:

The following shortcuts failed to properly initialize and have not been loaded.


and it lists the Default Shortcuts as damaged or unreadable. Just upgraded from QK's 3.

Any help how to discard the default shortcuts?
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:10 am

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby gb2 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:36 pm

shortcuts are stored in your Home folder at Home/Library/QuicKeys/Shortcuts/ - navigate to them and trash them. Are you saying that they are the new QuicKeys 4 default shortcuts or the old QuicKeys X3 default shortcuts?
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby cbergm7210 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:38 pm

Not sure as I just updated from 3 to 4 and 4 loaded in my shortcuts from 3 and backed up the 3 folder.

Would that mean that 4 tried to load 3's version for some reason? All I did was upgraded, installed, activated, then booted 4 and this message came up.
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:10 am

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby gb2 » Tue May 15, 2012 1:48 pm

whatever shortcuts you have before running QuicKeys 4 will still be there. It isn't going to delete the default shortcuts from X3 because it doesn't know if you were using them or not. The names on functionality of the default shortcuts have changed between 3 and 4 - knowing what the names of the ones that it said were bad would tell which they were.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby cbergm7210 » Tue May 15, 2012 2:19 pm

The name of the damaged shortcuts that it said was "Default Shortcuts".

All of my custom shortcuts are there and working.
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:10 am

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby gb2 » Tue May 15, 2012 3:33 pm

there is no shortcut just named "Default Shortcuts". I checked old e-mails and found that you had requested support in August of 2009 because your hard drive had failed and you were wanting to know where your shortcuts were stored. I'm thinking that when you reinstalled QuicKeys you selected all the default shortcuts and exported them with the name "Default Shortcuts" and stored them in your Shortcuts folder. QuicKeys 4 checks to make sure everything in the Shortcuts folder is a valid shortcut, so it notified you that it found something that was bad.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Newly installed QK's 4 - Shortcut failed to initialize

Postby cbergm7210 » Tue May 15, 2012 3:45 pm

Ah, that explains it. I found the shortcut and deleted it, then. Thanks!

Nice sleuthing, by the way. 8)

And...no crashes since the version 4 update. (I'm sure you noticed I was the same guy on the other thread...)
cbergm7210
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 11:10 am


Return to QKM General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron