Subscopes

Subscopes

Postby Layo » Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:52 am

I am trying to figure out how subscopes work. In the 'Scopes and Triggers' section at the top of the Shortcuts Editor, if I go to the 'other subscopes' menu option, a blank box comes up into which I can enter text.

What should I be entering into this blank box to set up a subscope? Could somebody give some examples of possible subscopes?

many thanks
Layo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:44 am

Re: Subscopes

Postby gb2 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 10:16 am

User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Subscopes

Postby Layo » Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:17 am

Sorry still unclear on what a subscope is and what it does. Could you give an example of a subscope you use - what have you written in the subscope box which requires text to be inputted? What does your subscope do?
Layo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:44 am

Re: Subscopes

Postby gb2 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:30 pm

you have a laptop that doesn't have a numeric keypad on it. You create a subscope to All Applications and give it a name of whatever you want, for example Keypad. You then create a Type Keystroke shortcut that types out each of the numbers found on a keypad in this new subscope named Keypad.

for example you use these groups of keys to make up the keypad:
7 8 9        7 8 9
 u i o         4 5 6
  j k l          1 2 3
  m               0

when you press u you get 4 and so on - you don't need to make any shortcut for 7 8 9

so you have to type a bunch of numbers in, so you switch to the Keypad subscope and use the u i o j k l m to type in 4 5 6 1 2 3 0.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm

Re: Subscopes

Postby Layo » Wed Jul 11, 2012 1:30 pm

Got it now. Many thanks
Layo
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:44 am


Return to QKM General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron