pro tools: activate and/or click in a floating window

End user supplied how to documents and discussion.

pro tools: activate and/or click in a floating window

Postby vinnytwice » Tue Feb 04, 2014 5:57 am

Hi, I'm new to this, so I'm just asking if it's possible or not, well obviously someone has already done it, it would be fantastic!
My goal is to make shortcuts for the buttons on the ''automations'' windows... for buttons like ''preview', ''write to selected'' and so on...
I found an article on Sound on Sound where a shortcut was made to open the gain audio unit plug in and apply a 6db gain.
Reading on in the article it was specified that using the recording way to make shortcuts he could make a patch for selecting a patch window and preset... etc etc...

The main goal to this is to not have to click the buttons and have the automation window always on screen... like having dedicated buttons on the control surface...
so maybe the macro would be... 1 open the window(command + 4) , 2 click the corresponding button, 3 close the window.
because the window is floating I saw this to be a problem in other posts here in the forum.
anyone had a solution on it?
many thanx to everyone
vinnytwice

Re: pro tools: activate and/or click in a floating window

Postby gb2 » Tue Feb 04, 2014 2:17 pm

that article looks like it was using QuicKeys X3, there have been many changes since then. If you don't own QuicKeys 4 I would suggest you download the trial and see if you can get it to work. The worse case would be that you would have to make sure that the window never moved and setting up Clicks relative to the screen instead of the window.
gb2
Site Admin

Re: pro tools: activate and/or click in a floating window

Postby ClacketyClicks » Fri Feb 07, 2014 4:44 pm

Yes you can do this in pro tools. I use it every day.

You need to make two shortcuts. The first one activates the Automation window, but is not connected to a keystroke - it's called by the next shortcut.