Monitor Resolution and Bit-Depth Switching

Monitor Resolution and Bit-Depth Switching

Postby tetrault » Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:12 pm

I have used every version of QuicKeys. (I have 24 years of Mac experience.) I loved the last OS 9 version of QuicKeys. I am disappointed that after 6 versions of OS X, QuicKeys X isn't even close to matching its OS 9 predecessor in usefulness, speed, or ease-of-use. One of the features I miss the most is quick switching of monitor resolutions and bit depths. Here's what I used to be able to do:

Default monitor setting: 1900 x 1200, millions of colors.

1. Run a QK shortcut that
-- changes settings to 832 x 624, thousands of colors (for example)
-- launches game or application that needs those settings

2. On quitting the game or app, I used a command-Q shortcut to
-- send keystroke command-Q to quit the game or app
-- change monitor settings back to 1900 x 1200, millions of colors

Using QK and native OS X software, it is nearly impossible to do these simple tasks. It's easy to launch System Preferences and then Display, but picking the resolution from a scrolling list fails most of the time, and changing the bit-depth is also hard. I will probably have to get the cscreen command line utility, run a shell script within an AppleScript, and call the AppleScript from QuicKeys. That's not an easy or elegant solution. It seems to me that QuicKeys should incorporate a utility for making screen changes and list them as System Tasks.
tetrault

Postby gb2 » Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:36 pm

already entered as feature request - ID 3282
looks like you are only the 3rd person in 7 years to request this feature. You say the OS 9 version had more usefulness, you can go here and submit your feedback on that: Product Feedback