Fine-grained control of information & confirmation messages

Fine-grained control of information & confirmation messages

Postby Ward » Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:03 am

When I discovered how easy it was to delete a shortcut by accidentally pressing the Delete key with a shortcut selected, I looked thru QuicKeys Preferences for a "Confirm Delete" option. When I didn't find that option, I suspected I was missing something and searched the Help for "delete". It found this line in the description of Reset "Do Not Show Again" messages:

For example, if you have shut off warnings such as the one when you delete a shortcut, you can turn them back on by clicking this Reset button.

As I pushed the button, I thought, "I wonder what other messages I'm enabling." My next thought was ...

QuicKeys should let us explicitly control each information and confirmation message. Currently, individual messages can be turned off. But there's no way to find out what messages have been disabled, and there's no way to restore a specific message. A separate "Messages" panel would provide plenty of space for each message.

The Reset "Do Not Show Again" messages button is too big a hammer.

-- Ward
Ward
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 8:43 pm

Re: Fine-grained control of information & confirmation messages

Postby gb2 » Thu Sep 24, 2009 11:14 am

thanks for the feedback.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2875
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:22 pm


Return to QKM Feature Requests

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron