Microsoft Excel : "Cannot Empty the Clipboard"

Microsoft Excel : "Cannot Empty the Clipboard"

Postby Juanski » Mon Jul 17, 2006 1:43 pm

All,
I have been using QuicKeys for several months now on my Laptop, running Windows XP-SP2. All of my routines worked great until I upgraded to a brand new laptop which is also running Windows XP - SP2.

What has been happening is that when I try and run a copy - paste routine with Excel, I get an error message that says "Cannot Empty the Clipboard". I did a google search for the error message and everything that I have found points to Windows Server 2003.

Has anyone else seen this problem?

- Juanski
Juanski

Postby gb2 » Mon Jul 17, 2006 2:53 pm

make sure you are using the latest version 3.0.3. There was a clipboard change for 3.0.1 that may have caused some strange copy and paste problems on certain machines.

QuicKeys for Windows Archives
gb2
Site Admin

Unable to Empty Clipboard - Update

Postby Juanski » Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:53 pm

Here is a quick update to my problem:
Upgrading to QuicKeys v3.03 did not resolve the issue. I would run my copy and paste macro and it would get as far as copying the first item before displaying the error on the second copy request. After going to Microsoft Updates and installing all the available patches things have improved but not much.

Now I can get up to 24 items copied before the clipboard buffer fills up and gives me the error message. I have tried the following recommendations for Excel to disable the clipboard, one which is to select the option "Collect without Showing Office Clipboard" which does not work.
and to go into RegEdit and change the ADBC Control.

None of which totally resolves the "Unable to Empty Clipboard " problem completely.
Juanski

Postby gb2 » Thu Jul 20, 2006 4:58 pm

what type of steps are in the sequence?
gb2
Site Admin

Postby Juanski » Thu Jul 20, 2006 7:22 pm

This is a small snippet of the macro that I am running.