QuicKeys and Vista???

QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby BruceO » Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:18 am

When will Startly Tech. be releasing a STABLE and compatible release of QuicKeys for Windows Vista???
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby gb2 » Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:43 pm

all I can say is that it is being worked on and we will post something here and on our website when it is done.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Postby Kent » Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:31 am

Hi:

Do you know if the QuicKeys release for Vista will be a free upgrade or not. If I buy version 3.03 now will I have to pay for the upgrade to the new version. Thanks, Kent
Kent
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:26 am

Postby gb2 » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:17 am

what I'm hearing is that QuicKeys is requiring a major rewrite for Vista and taking longer than expected. The next version will probably be a paid upgrade that also includes new features.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Postby Kent » Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:21 am

Thanks gb2.


Kent
Kent
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:26 am

Postby mitchgitman » Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:10 pm

Any updates on when the new QuicKeys for Vista might be available?

Thanks in advance.
mitchgitman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:03 pm

Postby gb2 » Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:51 am

it is in development and do to the complex nature of the problems with compatibility with Vista there is currently no ETA.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Postby G-Force » Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:19 am

What about a bug fix update for Windows XP? Will the rewritten QuicKeys also be compatible with XP?
G-Force
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 04, 2007 12:11 pm

Postby gb2 » Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:03 am

we would like the new version to be compatible with both XP and Vista - nothing cast in stone at this time. I don't think there would be any update for XP only on the old code base, that would take time away from getting the Vista compatible version done.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Any New Update on the Vista compatible version????

Postby BruceO » Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:29 am

Can anybody provide any info on a new release date for an Vista compatible QuicKeys version. There doesn't seem to be any activity or You don't give a damn about Windows users and just want to give Mac users your total comment and priority.
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby gb2 » Mon Jan 07, 2008 11:09 am

things are moving forward, but I'm sorry we still don't have a release date.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Windows Vista Beta?

Postby WIRND » Thu Jan 17, 2008 12:48 am

Will you have a Windows Vista Beta for testing any time soon? How does one sign up to become a beta tester for this? I'm holding up buying a Vista machine because our business uses QuicKeys extensively. Thanks.
WIRND
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:50 am

Postby gb2 » Thu Jan 17, 2008 10:19 am

basically my reply hasn't changed from my last post, we are still working on it and have no release date at this time. We already have enough beta testers and are not accepting anymore, but thanks for your interest.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Any Update on the Vista Release.

Postby BruceO » Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:24 pm

Any Update on the Vista Release. Soon? One Year away? Two Years away? or are we looking at a twenty year wait?
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby gb2 » Thu Mar 20, 2008 1:31 pm

sorry - as far as I know it is not in a state where an estimate can be given yet.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Any new update on the Vista Release

Postby BruceO » Sun Jun 22, 2008 1:06 pm

Any new update on the Vista Release?? An Monthly update would be nice.
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Postby gb2 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:06 am

You can keep an eye on the forum or our website for updates or sign up for the Mailing List which can be done by clicking Join Our Mailing Lists at the top of any of our sites web pages. At this time there is no new news.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Vista Release

Postby WIRND » Tue Jul 08, 2008 9:31 am

I'm starting to look at other automation software but don't want to give up on QuicKeys and all the effort that went into building sequences.
Can you confirm that you're actually working on a Vista version and not stringing users along? Will a version be released this year?
WIRND
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 9:50 am

Postby gb2 » Tue Jul 08, 2008 10:17 am

my reply hasn't changed. We are still working on it and have no release date at this time. You can keep an eye on the forum or our website for updates or sign up for the Mailing List which can be done by clicking Join Our Mailing Lists at the top of any of our sites web pages.
User avatar
gb2
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2871
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 5:22 pm

Postby mitchgitman » Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:41 pm

If I could share my own experience as a longtime QuicKeys user who has spent too much time waiting for a Vista version of QuicKeys…

A few weeks ago, I tried (or tried to try) a couple macro products I'd found in a New York Times article last year: Homemade Shortcuts for the PC

One was Perfect Keyboard from Pitrinec Software. Frankly, I found it klunky, rough around the edges, just a real letdown from what I'd become used to with QuicKeys. The other was Workspace Macro Pro from Tethys Solutions. For whatever reason, even though that program was supposed to be Vista-compatible, I was never able to launch the trial version.

Finally, out of desperation, I thought, "Why not just try running my existing copy of QuicKeys on Vista?" Well, I installed a copy of QuicKeys 3.0 and, lo and behold, it works just fine.

By the way, I had come to prefer QuicKeys 2.0 to 3.0 on Windows XP, so I may very well try installing that instead.

Now my experience begs the question, what would a new version of QuicKeys provide on Vista that the current versions of QuicKeys do not?
mitchgitman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby BruceO » Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:42 am

Well it's been almost 2 years now I am now presuming they have forgotten all about us PC QuicKeys users. They don't want to give us any updates on the software upgrade/fix status; nor any release date. Two years for an update?? Ya right. Almost every other software manufacture produced a update to their software within 6 months of Vista release. What is Startly problem? Oh i know. Then only have one person in the entire company and they are sitting on there hands trying to keep them warm.
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Re: QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby mitchgitman » Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:29 pm

To follow up my July 25 post, I should add that I've continued using the existing XP QuicKeys on Vista, and it has helped me out enormously. The only major limitation I've come across is that it refuses to do any kind of text/typing shortcuts. Oddly enough, though, if I recall correctly, I couldn't get automated typing working either on any of the macro programs I tried that did claim to be Vista compatible. Go figure.
mitchgitman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby BruceO » Fri Jan 02, 2009 1:33 pm

My major problem is that I had a bunch of QuicKeys macro in excel that work ok in xp in all version of office but won't work under vista. The QuicKeys programs just stops working (Will not respond). I also had a bunch of hot-keys setup to work in quicken. They won't work either. Creating fly-out-menus/floating windows won't work correctly. And many more problems I don't even want to get started on.
BruceO
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Mar 17, 2006 12:24 pm

Re: QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby mitchgitman » Fri Jul 10, 2009 11:28 am

I'd mentioned in my earlier post that I could get QuicKeys working on Windows Vista, just with one limitation: text macros wouldn't work. But I couldn't get text macros working either on Vista or any other macro software, even macro software that claimed to work on Vista.

Just the other day, just for the heck of it, I tried creating a text macro in Vista. And much to my shock, now it worked! The only explanation is that there was some bug in Vista which one of the standard patches fixed.

So really, as of now, I don't need a special QuicKeys for Vista release. QuicKeys for XP does everything I need on Vista. Oh, by the way, I have both QuicKeys 3 and QuicKeys 2 (or maybe it's 2.5) for Windows, and I much prefer 2 or 2.5.
mitchgitman
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:03 pm

Re: QuicKeys and Vista???

Postby JanSr » Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:23 am

I sincerely hope that we do not have to wait for two or more years again for a Windows 7 release.......
JanSr
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 6:31 am

Next

Return to QKW General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron