Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

End user supplied how to documents and discussion.

Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby robass » Wed Apr 28, 2010 11:57 am

Hello,

after a long search I found a way to get QuicKeys win 3.03 working on windows 7.

The main problem was the UAC.
I finally found a little program called Smart UAC Replacement to manage the UAC so that QuicKeys has enough rights to function properly.

Installed it, allowed QuicKeys to run and that was it!

Hope this helps someone...

All the best,

robass
robass
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby drhankz » Thu May 06, 2010 10:19 am

How is replace UAC suppose to HELP when it will NOT install on Win 7-64 bit?
drhankz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 10:16 am

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby robass » Thu May 06, 2010 12:08 pm

I do not run win7 64bit on my computer, so unfortunately I only can report the solution for the 32bit operating system.
Sorry for that.
Doesn't have win7 64bit something like a compatibility mode, too?
robass
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:51 am

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby drhankz » Thu May 06, 2010 2:12 pm

For me QuicKeys 3.0.3 works just fine under Windows 7-64bit without doing any tricks.
From your post - I thought you were indicating some trick needed to be done.
drhankz
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 06, 2010 10:16 am

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby WFM » Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:43 pm

This worked beautifully for me! Thanks a million! :D :D

Update: "ReplaceUAC" caused my system (Dell E6400, 4Gb, Win7 32-bit) to bog down within 24 hours to the point of being unusable. I uninstalled that and used "TweakUAC", a very small app, and it runs great. On my third day now and it's perfect. I tried everything in native Win 7 UAC controls and nothing else worked. :D
WFM
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby Lowell » Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:59 pm

TweakUAC didn't work for me.

I have a 32-bit Windows 7 laptop, and my QuicKeys scripts all fail on the "Type Text" action. These actions worked on my older computer which was running XP, but that ones motherboard died.

Any ideas?
Lowell
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:52 pm

Re: Solution for QKW in win7 !!!

Postby Lowell » Tue Feb 14, 2012 1:20 pm

Sorry, I spoke to soon. It didn't work in quiet mode, but QuicKeys seems to work fine when turning the UAC off completely with TweakUAC.
Lowell
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2012 12:52 pm


Return to QKW How Tos

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest