QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby thoffman666 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:30 am

My biggest problem is with SoftKeys. Regardless of which shortcuts are put into a SoftKeys shortcut, when the SoftKeys shortcut is invoked, my choice from the SoftKeys list is not executed. The numbered choices appear as usual, and they disappear when I make a choice, but the shortcut hangs until I make QK the frontmost application, then the shortcut proceeds. If I individually invoke any of the shortcuts listed in a SoftKeys shortcut (i.e., directly, instead of via SoftKeys), that individual shortcut works fine.
thoffman666
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 6:23 am

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby llee » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:22 pm

I can also make SoftKeys work if I bring QuicKeys forward. That's not a very robust workaround, but it might be manageable if you can make comfortable triggers for doing it.
llee
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby the Old Toad » Thu Sep 01, 2011 3:24 pm

All aspects of QuicKeys work except one: shortcuts in toolbars do not work when QK's window is not open. Abbreviations work, shortcuts with key combinations work, toolbars are visible. If I minimize QK's window with the middle, yellow button the toolbar shortcuts will work.
User avatar
the Old Toad
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 1:17 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby llee » Fri Sep 16, 2011 9:28 am

I created a workaround for the biggest QuicKeys problem I've encountered in Lion, which is the need to bring QuicKeys to the front when it stalls (already discussed here). I wrote an AppleScript to be used as the basis for an Automator-generated Mac OS X Service which can be configured to be activated with a keyboard shortcut (I use command-option-control-Q). It's not perfect, and it may take some tweaking and some getting used to, but if QuicKeys fails to act when I trigger a shortcut, I can usually trigger this Service to cause QuicKeys to pick up where it left off. I delayed sending QuicKeys back to the background for 3.1 seconds, because I can usually navigate my SoftKeys hierarchies in that amount of time. Others may need to adjust this interval.

Code: Select all
on run {input, parameters}
   (* Your script goes here *)
   tell application "QuicKeys" to activate
   do shell script "sleep 3.1"
   tell application "System Events"
      set visible of application process "QuicKeys" to false
   end tell
end run
llee
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 3:45 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby the Old Toad » Fri Sep 16, 2011 4:17 pm

I used QuicKeys to bring QK to the front and then back again. The only problem I have is with Toolbars. QK has to be the front window so I click on the toolbar shortcut and activate the keystroke shortcut.

The shortcut is: Open Item (QuicKeys) and Close Window ➙ Action Close; Window Type ➙ any window; Identify by ➙ Mai