QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby thoffman666 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:30 am

My biggest problem is with SoftKeys. Regardless of which shortcuts are put into a SoftKeys shortcut, when the SoftKeys shortcut is invoked, my choice from the SoftKeys list is not executed. The numbered choices appear as usual, and they disappear when I make a choice, but the shortcut hangs until I make QK the frontmost application, then the shortcut proceeds. If I individually invoke any of the shortcuts listed in a SoftKeys shortcut (i.e., directly, instead of via SoftKeys), that individual shortcut works fine.
thoffman666
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Aug 13, 2011 7:23 am

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby llee » Tue Aug 16, 2011 1:22 pm

I can also make SoftKeys work if I bring QuicKeys forward. That's not a very robust workaround, but it might be manageable if you can make comfortable triggers for doing it.
llee
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:45 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby the Old Toad » Thu Sep 01, 2011 4:24 pm

All aspects of QuicKeys work except one: shortcuts in toolbars do not work when QK's window is not open. Abbreviations work, shortcuts with key combinations work, toolbars are visible. If I minimize QK's window with the middle, yellow button the toolbar shortcuts will work.
User avatar
the Old Toad
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:17 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby llee » Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:28 am

I created a workaround for the biggest QuicKeys problem I've encountered in Lion, which is the need to bring QuicKeys to the front when it stalls (already discussed here). I wrote an AppleScript to be used as the basis for an Automator-generated Mac OS X Service which can be configured to be activated with a keyboard shortcut (I use command-option-control-Q). It's not perfect, and it may take some tweaking and some getting used to, but if QuicKeys fails to act when I trigger a shortcut, I can usually trigger this Service to cause QuicKeys to pick up where it left off. I delayed sending QuicKeys back to the background for 3.1 seconds, because I can usually navigate my SoftKeys hierarchies in that amount of time. Others may need to adjust this interval.

Code: Select all
on run {input, parameters}
   (* Your script goes here *)
   tell application "QuicKeys" to activate
   do shell script "sleep 3.1"
   tell application "System Events"
      set visible of application process "QuicKeys" to false
   end tell
end run
llee
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:45 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby the Old Toad » Fri Sep 16, 2011 5:17 pm

I used QuicKeys to bring QK to the front and then back again. The only problem I have is with Toolbars. QK has to be the front window so I click on the toolbar shortcut and activate the keystroke shortcut.

The shortcut is: Open Item (QuicKeys) and Close Window ➙ Action Close; Window Type ➙ any window; Identify by ➙ Main Window; In Application ➙ Front Application. The QK window opens and closes in less than a second.
User avatar
the Old Toad
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:17 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby llee » Fri Sep 16, 2011 7:39 pm

But that's why it has to be a keyboard shortcut that makes something other than QK bring QK to the front. Granted, I'm in the process of establishing the habit that whenever things halt, I press command-option-control-Q, which may have unintended consequences of which I'm not yet aware, possibly as serious as those of the Opti-grab in The Jerk (it's a movie from the 1980's, and I didn't look up the spelling of the invention or the movie).
llee
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 4:45 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby sgginc » Mon Oct 17, 2011 5:54 am

My toolbars work after a restart if I don’t bring/start QuicKeys.
If I bring QK to the front with a keyboard shortcut the toolbars stop working until a system restart.

What I mean by not starting QK is I don’t have it in my dock or right top menu bar.
If I don’t access it in any way my toolbars are fine.
If accessed only a system restart restores toolbars functionality.

QK is one of my login items.

Hope this helps.

Thanks ... Ken
sgginc
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:46 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby the Old Toad » Mon Oct 17, 2011 11:45 am

If you don't open QK for any reason the toolbars will work just as expected.

However, I have nearly 100 abbreviations and am constantly going to that window in QK to try to remember which abbreviation is the one I want. That immediately kills the toolbars for use without bringing the QK window to the front for a brief moment.

If you don't open QK your toolbars should work OK.
User avatar
the Old Toad
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2008 2:17 pm

Re: QuicKeys 4.0.7 and Lion

Postby gb2 » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:06 am

QuicKeys 4 Lion News

We began working on the update for Lion the first week of April, well before the public release of Lion on July 20, 2011. Our programming team for this project consisted of two individuals, one of whom had a twenty-year relationship with our company.

Programming was to be done off-site. Though we felt development was not proceeding quickly enough, we were assured that though the task was difficult, progress was being made. This situation continued through September. In October we learned that the lead programmer had an aggressive, fatal disease. He has now passed away. Because this illness was kept secret from us, both our company and you, our customers, have been harmed. Legal action is under consideration which has caused us to be more silent than we would have preferred.

In October we began searching for a replacement programmer to complete the update for Lion. Despite the offer of significant compensation, we have not yet found a properly qualified applicant.

We are disclosing this problem hoping that someone may know the right person who could complete this work. We estimate that about a month (or more) is needed for completion. We are willing to negotiate significant compensation to a qualified candidate who can complete the task. We are also offering a $1,000 award payable to the person who refers the programmer who successfully gets this software shipping within the time period that we negotiate with the candidate. Send referrals of qualified programmers to us at this special e-mail address, startlysoftware@aol.com

We again apologize for our silence. We ask for your understanding and assistance in helping this application have another 24 years providing greater productivity.

-- Startly

fyi - To allow our full effort to be directed to finding the right programmer, this forum will only allow posts pertaining solely to current and past versions of